General information about things that Nicholas Hay knows about.

White nights and city lights: Artpace’s IAIR 09.03 with San Antonio’s most gorgeous man.

Posted in Adventures, San Antonio's Most Gorgeous Man by nicholashay on November 20, 2009

I haven’t been to the last few Artpace openings, and it’s been even longer since I listened in on one of the panel discussions, but last night I made my triumphant return to the house that sauce built.  The last really good show that I saw was the Katie Pell/Alison Smith/Chiho Aioshima event a few years ago.  Takashi Murakami also happened to be there and Yuko talked to him.  At that event there was a giant rocking horse, a stove that shot five foot flames out, and a rice paper mural covering the entire wall.  The show last night was definitely less exciting, but still interesting.

Frugality was in the air.  Before the director introduced the artist he asked that everyone go online and donate generously because Artpace needs us now more than ever.  Too bad you can’t buy art supplies with picante sauce.  As for the exhibits, there weren’t any bullet riddled suburbans or hydraulic washing machines.  There were some pretty thrown together panels upstairs and a windchime in the back room.  Believe it or not there were even some drawings on paper, and furthermore, some of those were made with sharpie markers.  I don’t know what the fuck is going on, but I like it – except for the panels up stairs that could have easily been touched up with a little wood filler.  I am glad to see a little less money being spent at Artpace, and even some of the formal choices hinted at limits.  Two of the exhibits were predominantly black and white, and the one upstairs was dominated by a large  black and white checkerboard.  Not to mention the video upstairs that was comprised of a bunch of San Antonio artists that I see at every single San Antonio opening (I know there wasn’t any money spent there).  Oh yeah, and at the bar, instead of the usual Coca-Cola they had RC Cola.  What the fuck.  I didn’t realize I was at my brothers little league game.  But seriously, I really fucking loved the RC Cola.

Overall the artwork was pretty interesting.  Some of it was sort of tacky, but at the same time confident.  A professor once told me that even if I don’t have any confidence I should pretend that I do.  I should fake it.  That won’t work for every profession, but it works for art.  Some of the art last night was definitely faking it – with it’s silver spray paint and stenciled circles that were suspiciously similar in diameter to gallon cans of house paint.  I understand, and try to get others to agree, that faking it can go a long way when you have nothing else to offer.  I think that it is what clever means.  Making the most out of whatever you have.  It isn’t smart, it’s clever.


And then, just when things were getting a little dull, in walked The Most Gorgeous Man In San Antonio.  Last week we were supposed to review Kristy Perez’s show at 1906 gallery, but shit got heavy and I had to leave San Antonio in a hurry.  But now it was Artpace, the fucking big times, and Mr. Morales doesn’t miss the big times for anything.


It all happened so fast.  There was a puff of smoke and the review team appeared and was ready for the night.


Five minutes later Nick and I went back inside to get a serious look at the art.  Nick has actually only ever completed a single work of art in his entire life (unless you count his foray into sculpture).  It was about four years ago.  He ended up selling the really badass painting for a shitload of money and using some of the money on the brown leather bomber jacket that he is wearing.  In fact, he almost never takes of the brown jacket except to count his money, or when he is washing his Land Rover.  That’s me in the foreground.  I am not really sure why we are posed so akwardly or what accounts for the expression on Nick’s face.  By the way, there wasn’t a whole hell of a lot of people out last night.  I am not sure where everyone went, but I later found out that there was an opening a few blocks away at Southwest Craft Center.  Also, you can see some of the fake art in the background.  The stuff with the silver spray paint.


This is Nick’s shot at photographing.  He doesn’t get anymore shots because this photograph fucking sucks.  He kept trying to shoot these low shots.  I guess it was something learned in film school.  Unfortunately he never went to film school but apparently he has a pretty nice flat screen television.


This is the newest addition to the review team.  Her name is Yuko and she is from Japan.  Actually, anytime that you see a photo that contains both of the Nicks then there is a good chance that Yuko was the one taking the photo.  Behind the team is the big Wizard of Oz blanket that hides all of the really cool art.  Nobody gets to go behind the really big blanket.


Nick had to do the international symbol for art to let everyone know that there was some art around.  Unfortunately I didn’t take enough photographs this time around so I had to post stupid shit like this.  Ohh well, the art was pretty cool.  Nick and Yuko were fun to hang around with and I think that they are starting to bond.  Good job Artpace.  I hope that you guys don’t run out of money.  If you want to save some money don’t buy anymore of the awful spicy cheese that you guys had last night.  It was way to fucking hot for a piece of cheese.  But again, the RC Cola was fucking awesome.  Maybe next time throw some fucking Hot Pockets into the mix.

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Eric Mmmmm, I like salsa. said, on November 20, 2009 at 10:41 pm

    Yuko spoke to Takashi Murakami last year? I wish I was there. I would need english subtitles though.

    • nicholashay said, on November 20, 2009 at 10:45 pm

      It was a few years ago. I think it was 2007.

      • Eric Mmmmm, I like salsa. said, on November 21, 2009 at 12:16 am

        Yeah, I remember Chiho Aioshima’s installation.

  2. Nicolas Blood said, on November 20, 2009 at 11:19 pm

    Second best entry after the Zoo. I need to start a counter blog to this blog.

  3. Barbara Justice said, on November 21, 2009 at 10:37 am

    I really love RC and picante sauce. Good job Nicks and Yuko, I am starting to look forward to reading your blogs.

  4. WET BOY said, on November 22, 2009 at 10:58 pm

    Thanks for the in- depth, anecdotal coverage of events, humorous side notes and associated imagery. What else could a man want from a blog?


Leave a Reply

