General information about things that Nicholas Hay knows about.

I Don’t Do Yoga

Posted in Shows, Uncategorized by nicholashay on June 4, 2013


I enjoy the short lived numbness that I feel in my toes encounter after that one amazing beer. I don’t make work about this, but it reminds me that the periphery incidents are just as significant as the main event. I paint. On things. Sometimes I photograph things that I paint on. Sometimes I realize that what I paint on isn’t quite as interesting as the accidental paint that I got on my cowboy boot. I don’t do yoga. But I do photograph that accidental paint on my cowboy boot on a yoga mat. Is that yoga?

I am interested in facts and the manipulation of facts in order to question the significance of truth. I am curious to see what exists beyond an image. What is in front, behind and to the periphery of an image can potentially inform the reading of it. Can the simulated image can hold more truth than the physical object that the image is representative of?

Because of my constant exposure to two-dimensional images, my relationship with space is complicated. I don’t take for granted the fact that an image is a flat illusion of space, but I take advantage of the fact that a viewer probably does. I want to manipulate the viewer’s understanding of this fact, capitalize on their willingness to accept something less than the absolute truth, and bring their awareness to the tactility and relationship with scale that is abstracted and made ambiguous through their daily interactions with images.

 

NickHay-001

NickHay-002

NickHay-004

NickHay-005

NickHay-006

NickHay-007

NickHay-010

NickHay-009

NickHay-008

NickHay-011

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Mary Mikel Stump said, on September 3, 2013 at 9:19 am

    fanfuckingtastic.


Leave a Reply

